The Inland Empire Society for Human Resource Management Chapter was established in 2004 as a 100% affiliate chapter of the Society for Human Resources Management (SHRM). Our members pay no annual membership dues or fees to be a member of Inland Empire SHRM with current SHRM membership.

The mission of Inland Empire Society for Human Resource Management is to provide HR professionals with local resources for professional development, information on laws, and best practices impacting the field of Human Resources.

Our vision is to develop a collaborative group of IE SHRM members and HR professionals in the Inland Empire through participation, mentorship and networking.

We strive to add value to the organizations we serve and contribute to the ethical success of those organizations. We advocate for the HR profession, and strive to enhance the knowledge, credibility and value of Human Resources.

Inland Empire SHRM membership has grown to over 500 HR professionals and has been awarded the SHRM Membership Super Star for significant membership growth.


Message from President, Lora Hassani

Strategic Business Planning
By: Lora Hassani, SPHR, SHRM-SCP

IE SHRM held a special SHRM workshop on March 24 for Strategic Business Planning – Train the Trainer. We invited IE SHRM members that regularly attend multiple meetings each year – our “frequent flyers.” These are members that have shown how dedicated they are to learning, developing and influencing HR in the Inland Empire.

Jon Decoteau, SHRM Division Director West, lead the 8-hour workshop for the 16 attendees. We learned why having a strategic plan is important, the planning life-cycle and how to do a SWOT analysis. We also learned how to implement strategic plans to make the plan work.

Each attendee brought their unique talents and expertise to the workshop. So many ideas flowed into great collaboration. It was exciting to be a part of this energetic group.

We hope to offer other special programs and focused workshops like this one to meet the specific needs of our members. If you are interested in participating in future workshops like this one, please let us know.

Board of Directors

President: Lora Hassani, SPHR, SHRM-SCP
President-Elect: Pat Steet, EdD, SHRM-SCP, SPHR, PHRca
SecretaryDaniella Waitschies
Treasurer: Douglas House,  MS, SPHR, SHRM-CP, SPHRca
VP of Membership: Vacant
Membership Chair: Renee Moody, PHR
College Relations Chair: Stacey Barnier
Emerging HR Professionals Chair:  Pat Steet, EdD, SHRM-SCP, SPHR, PHRca
VP of Marketing: Mary Mizell
Social Media Chair: Mary Mizell
Sponsorship Chair: Stacey Barnier
Director of ProgramsVilma Brager, PHR, SHRM-CP
Logistics Chair: Vacant
Certification Director: Richard Dawson, SHRM-SCP, SPHR, PHRca, HRPM, sHRBP

Legislative Director: Brent Garrett, Esq.

Conference Chair: Bob Bruner

IE SHRM Past Presidents

2015-2016            Craig Seal, PhD, PHR, SHRM-CP
2013-2014            Rhonda Tompkins, PHR, SHRM-CP
2013                       Sharee Andrade, PHR
2012                       Richard Dawson, SPHR-CA, SHRM-SCP
2011                       Bob Bruner, Founder
2009-2010            Joy Ward, Founder
2008                       Paul Becker, PHR
2007                       Paul Becker, PHR